EurActiv - Letters to the Editor

Sir,

Producing bio-fuels from microalgae oil has recently been proposed as a renewable, carbon neutral alternative to fossil-based transportation fuels. The excessive commercial and political interest in sustainable sources for transportation fuels from renewables is creating new opportunities, but also new challenges for industrial algae producers.

As a result of their biochemical and morphological diversity, there is a growing market for microalgae on a commercial scale. The total production of microalgae is 5,000 tons per annum. Global sales are worth about US$2.5 billion.

There are various fields close to the food industry that benefit from the biotechnology of microalgae. For example, the aqua cultivation, feed, cosmetics and pharmaceutical industries, or chemistry, pet food or health food sectors, have applications of different species of microalgae.

Diverse companies worldwide produce fine chemicals like dyes or fatty acids, analytical standards for algal toxins and natural carotenoids. Cultivation in open systems is primarily used in the Asia-Pacific rim. Many companies which are located in Europe and the USA, in contrast, offer different technologies for marine biotechnologies.

Despite the increasing interest in this industry, it is very difficult to get an overview of which companies are already able to supply algae, and which production volumes are realistic.

Based on a recent Internet search (July 2010), we present here a list of algae producers and companies currently developing production technology. This list doesn’t claim to be complete yet. It is, however, the most comprehensive web directory of this industry publicly available.

Germany/Austria

Cyano Biofuels GmbH http://www.cyano-biofuels.com/
Phytolutions GmbH www.phytolutions.com
Greenovation http://www.greenovation.com/
Subitec GmbH http://www.subitec.com/
Astaxa http://www.algae-biotech.com/
IGV GmbH http://www.igv-gmbh.de/
Bioprodukte Prof. Steinberg GmbH http://www.algomed.de/
Blue Biotech GmbH http://www.bluebiotech.de/
Algaegrowth http://www.algaegrowth.de/
Novagreen GmbH http://www.novagreen-microalgae.com/index.html
Salata GmbH
Breen Biotec GmbH http://www.breen-biotec.de/
Astaxa http://www.algae-biotech.com
See-O-two http://www.seeholding.com

Israel

Algatech http://www.algatech.com/
Seambiotic http://www.seambiotic.com/
Nature Beta Technologies
Transalgae http://www.transalgae.com/

Spain

Bio Fuel Systems http://www.biopetroleo.com/
Aurantia http://www.aurantia.es/
Marine Farm Madrid http://marinefarm.blogspot.com/
Easy Algae http://www.easyalgae.com
Algaebiotech SA http://www.algaebiotech.es/
Cleanalgae SA http://www.cleanalgae.es/
Algasol Technologies http://www.algasolrenewables.com/en/

The Netherlands

AlgaeLink, http://www.algaelink.com/
BioKing closed
Ingrepro BV http://www.ingrepro.nl/?lang=EN
Algae Food and Fuel http://www.algaefoodfuel.com/english/home/
Evodos Algae Technologies www.evodos.eu
Phycom BV www.phycom.eu

Portugal

AlgaFuel, S.A. http://www.algafuel.pt/
Necton S.A. http://phytobloom.com

Canada

Canada Algae Fuel System http://www.algaefuelsystems.com/
Canadianpacificalgae http://www.canadianpacificalgae.com/
Pond Biofuels http://www.pondbiofuels.com

Argentina

Oil Fox http://www.oilfox.com.ar/

USA

A2Be Carbon Capture http://www.algaeatwork.com/
Algae Biosciences Corp. http://www.algaebio.com/
Algae Floating Systems, Inc. http://www.algaefloatingsystems.com/
Algae Fuel System http://www.algaefuelsystems.com/
Algaeventure Systems http://www.algaevs.coom
Algaewheel http://www.algaewheel.com/
Algaeproductionsystems http://algaeproductionsystems.com/
Algalfarms inc http://www.algalfarms.com/
Algenol http://www.algenolbiofuels.com/
Algenetix http://www.algenetix.com/
Aquatic Energy http://www.aquaticenergy.com/
Aurora BioFuels,Inc. http://www.aurorabiofuels.com/
AXI http://www.axillc.com/
Bioalgene http://www.bioalgene.com/bio.html
Biocentric Energy http://www.biocentricenergy.com/
Biofuelbox http://www.biofuelbox.com/algae.html
Biogreen International http://www.biogreenintl.com/algae.html
Bionavitas http://www.bionavitas.com/contact.html
Blue Marble Energy http://bluemarbleenergy.net/
Bodega Algae http://www.bodegaalgae.com/
Carbon Capture Corp. http://www.carbcc.com/
Center of Excellence for Hazardous Materials Management – CEHMM http://www.cehmm.org/
Cellana-Shell http://www.hrbp.com/Partners/Shell-Cellana.html
Chevron Corporation http://www.chevron.com/News/Press/Release/?id=2007-10-31
Circle Biodiesel & Ethanol Corp http://www.circlebio.com/algae_biodiesel_photobioreactors.htm
Cyanotech Corporation Cyanotech Corporation
Cuturing Solutions Inc http://www.culturingsolutions.com/
Diversified Energy Corporation http://www.diversified-energy.com/
Earthrise Nutritional, LLC http://www.earthrise.com/
Global Green Solutions http://www.globalgreensolutionsinc.com/s/GlobalGreenAlgae.asp
GreenerBioEnergy http://www.greenerbioenergy.com/technology.htm
GreenFuel Technologies Corporation closed
Hydromentia http://www.hydromentia.com
Imperium Renewables http://www.imperiumrenewables.com/
Infinifuel Biodiesel http://www.infinifuel.com/research.htm
Inspired Fuels http://www.inspiredfuels.com
International Energy http://www.internationalenergyinc.com/
Inventure Chemical Technology http://www.inventurechem.com/contact_us.html
Joule Biotechnologies http://www.jouleunlimited.com
Kai BioEnergy Corp. http://www.kaibioenergy.com/
Kent Seatech http://www.kentbioenergy.com/page5/page5.html
Live Fuels, Inc. http://www.livefuels.com/
Martek Biosciences Corporation http://www.martek.com
MBD Energy Ltd http://www.mbdenergy.com/catalogue/c10
Mera Pharmaceuticals http://www.merapharma.com
Organic Fuels http://www.organicfuels.com/technology/algae
OriginOil http://www.originoil.com/
Patriot Biofuels -EF3 tornado detroyed plant-
Petroalgae http://www.petroalgae.com/
PetroSun http://www.petrosuninc.com/
Phycal LLC http://www.phycal.com/
Phyco2 http://phyco2.us/contact.html
Planktonix http://www.planktonix-corp.com/
Primafuel http://www.primafuel.com/
Renewergy http://www.renewergy.biz
Renewable World Energies http://www.rwenergies.com
Sapphire Energy http://www.sapphireenergy.com/
Solazyme, Inc http://www.solazyme.com/
Sunecoenergy http://sunecoenergy.com/
Sunpower http://www.sunpowercorp.com
Solix Biofuels http://www.solixbiofuels.com/
Susquehanna Biotech, LLC http://www.susquehannabiotech.com/
Terrabon http://www.terrabon.com
Valcent http://www.valcent.net/s/Home.asp
Xlrenewables http://www.xlrenewables.com/

Australia / New Zealand

Cognis Australia Pty Ltd http://www.au.cognis.com
Biomax biodiesel http://www.biomaxfuels.com.au/
Aquaflow Bionomic Corporation (ABC) http://www.aquaflowgroup.com/contact.html
Nutrimed Gro http://www.nutrimedgroup.com/ingredients.htm
Aquacarotene Ltd. http://www.aquacarotene.com.au

China

Jiangsu Tiankai Biotechnology Co., Ltd Company website not found
Far East Microalgae Ind Co., Ltd. http://www.femico.com.tw/eng/algaeintro.html
BlueBio (Yantai) Bio-pharmaceutical Co., Ltd http://www.bluebio.cn/
Changsha Natureway Co., Ltd Company website not found
Qingdao Haizhijiao Biotechnology Co., Ltd. Company website not found
Tianjin Norland Biotech Co., Ltd. http://www.norlandbiotech.com/products1.asp
Jiangsu Cibainian Nutrition Food Co. , Ltd. http://chinaspirulina.fuzing.com/
Nanchang Yuanhe health-product Devoloping Co., Ltd Company website not found
Beihai Biology Care Deli Co., Ltd. Company website not found
Wefirst Biotechnology Co., Ltd http://www.astawefirst.com/
Jiangxi Boyuan Spirulina Co., Ltd. Company website not found
Jiangsu Cibainian Nutrition Food Co., Ltd. Company website not found
Yunnan Spirin Co. Ltd, China Company website not found
Dongtai City Spirulina Bio-engineering Co., Ltd. http://www.spirulinafactory.com/
LifeTech Enterprises Inc.USA Company website not found
Shandong Firstspirulina Biotech Co., Ltd Company website not found
Hainan Dic Microalgae Co., Ltd. http://www.hidic.com.cn/
Fuqing Kind DDnarmsa Spirulina Co.,Ltd http://www.kingdnarmsa.cn/en/company.asp?id=195
Erdos Jiali Spirulina Co., Ltd Company website not found
BiofuelsHK Company website not found
Wudi IMVE Feed & Biotech Co Company website not found
Shenzhen Jawkai bioengineering R&D center company limited http://www.jawkai.com

Korea

Daesang Corp http://www.edaesang.com/
Korean Chlorella Company website not found

India

Aurobiotech Company website not found

Energymicroalgae http://www.energymicrolgae.com

Jovialis Company website not found
Sateera Nutria Biotech Company website not found
Parry Nutraceuticals http://www.parrynutraceuticals.com/
Avantha (Mysore) Company website not found

Malaysia

Algaetech Sdn. Bhd. http://www.algaetech.com.my/

Saudi Arabia

National Prawn Company http://www.robian.com.sa/

Japan

Sunchlorella http://www.sunchlorella.com/
Chlorella Industry Co., Company website not found
Yaeyama Shokusan Co., Ltd. http://www.yaeyamachlorella.com
Chlorella Industry Co.,LTD Company website not found
Nihon Vitamin Chemical Co., Ltd. Company website not found
Nikken Sohonsha Company http://www.chlostanin.co.jp/

Turkey

Algatek Company website not found

UK

Algaebiotechproducts http://www.algaebiotechproducts.com/ABP/Home.html
Oxford Algaetech http://www.oxfordalgaetech.co.uk

Finland

Neste Oil Corporation http://www.nesteoil.com/

Myanmar

Myanmar Pharmaceutical Industries http://www.industry1myanmar.com/English/MPI/mpi.html

Taiwan

Taiwan Chlorella Manufacturing Company http//www.taiwanchlorella.com/
Far East Bio-Tec Co., Ltd http://www.febico.com.tw
Vedan Enterprise Corp. http://www.vedan.com
Taiwan Marine Technology Co., LTD. www.FranTechAsia.com

Brazil

Revolution Biofuels http://www.biofuelsrevolution.com/

Chile

Solarium Biotechnology http://www.spirulina.cl/

Thailand

Siam Algae Co., Ltd Company website not found
Boonsoms Farm http://www.gd-1.com/about.htm

France

Roquette http://www.algohub-roquette.com/

Russia

Conversia Co. Company website not found

Norway

Algetech Industrier AS http://www.aquaflor.no

Belgium

SBAE Industries http://www.sbae-industries.com/
Proviron http://www.proviron.com/algae/GB/index_GB.php

By Prof. Dr. Gerd Kloeck

Professor of Bioprocess Engineering

Hochschule Bremen

Bremen

Germany

Gerd.kloeck@hs-bremen.de

Author :
Print

Comments

  1. Impressive list of contacts THANKS

    But lack of knowledge of France (first commercial partner of Germany…..):
    – AlphaBiotech
    – Innovalg
    – Green Sea
    – AlgoSource (www.algosource.com)

    Also, missing info on Italy (F&M), on Sweden

Comments are closed.